Simpler Navigation for Servers and Operating Systems - Please Update Your Bookmarks
Completed: a much simpler Servers and Operating Systems section of the Community. We combined many of the older boards, so you won't have to click through so many levels to get at the information you need. Check the consolidated boards here as many sub-forums are now single boards.
If you have bookmarked forums or discussion boards in Servers and Operating Systems, we suggest you check and update them as needed.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Zone

Larry Smith Partners
Occasional Visitor

Time Zone

Is there any resource available to determine the actual time zone in use in Chicago, IL on Apri1 1-5, 1936
4 REPLIES
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

Re: Time Zone

Maybe zdump -v? I don't understadn your question. Please also see: http://tldp.org/HOWTO/TimePrecision-HOWTO/
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

Re: Time Zone

you could try if http://www.ntp.org/documentation.html
links to a document with the required information.

It looks like timezones are defined by a US-law.
http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/260.html
http://www.law.cornell.edu/search/index.html
Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

Re: Time Zone

Martin Moore
HPE Pro

Re: Time Zone

zdump -v does show you what Tru64 believes to have been in effect for the dates in question:

$ zdump -v :America/Chicago | grep 1936
:America/Chicago Sun Mar 1 07:59:59 1936 GMT = Sun Mar 1 01:59:59 1936 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
:America/Chicago Sun Mar 1 08:00:00 1936 GMT = Sun Mar 1 03:00:00 1936 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
:America/Chicago Sun Nov 15 06:59:59 1936 GMT = Sun Nov 15 01:59:59 1936 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
:America/Chicago Sun Nov 15 07:00:00 1936 GMT = Sun Nov 15 01:00:00 1936 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600

This shows that the Chicago time zone went to DST (from CST to CDT) on March 1, 1936, and went back to standard time (CDT to CST) on Nov. 15, 1936. So CDT would have been in effect from April 1-5.

Martin
I work for HP
A quick resolution to technical issues for your HP Enterprise products is just a click away HP Support Center Knowledge-base
See Self Help Post for more details