Operating System - VMware
1753963 Members
7476 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: vSphere 4.0 HP UPS Agents compatible ?

Jan Pauler
Advisor

vSphere 4.0 HP UPS Agents compatible ?

Did anybody test any HP UPS Agents with vSphere. I have ESX3.5 running with agents version 4.5. But I wonder which agents can we use after the upgrade - version 5.0 or is still version 4.5 working ?

Thanks for any help.

Jan
9 REPLIES 9
Jan Pauler
Advisor

So I tested both versions 4.5 and 5.0. Both installed successfully and both connected and reported status to HP UPS Management card.

I kept the version 5.0 installed and will further observe if any weird issues arise.

Jan
Kumdist
Valued Contributor

Jan, I am new to ESX 4.0
Could you point me the installation guide and the commands involved?

Many thanks
Jan Pauler
Advisor

Kumdist,

inside the original packages from HP (HPUPSPPALinux-4.5.tgz or HPRA-5.0-Build5-Linux.tgz) is a ReadMe file, which I followed. There you will find all the instructions you need.

Regards,

Jan
Kumdist
Valued Contributor

Thanks.. I now have an issue. I installed HPPM on my ESX 4.0 server. Upon reboot, I can access the hppm management home page.
However, the Vmware web console doesnt display. I confirmed the webAccess service is running but the webaccess page doenst dispaly. Even connect via the VI client cannot.
Have you come across this??
Jan Pauler
Advisor

Dear Kumdist,

I use HP UPS Management Module (HPMM)agents. I do not use HP Power Manager (HPPM) for VSphere, so there I cannot help with why that happened.

But I also checked WebAccess on our VSphere hosts and can confirm that I get "503 - Service Unavailable" on all our hosts after upgrade from ESX3.5 to Vsphere 4.0

I will further investigate why this happened, but fortunately I do not use WebAccess at all, just VCenter client, so for us it is nothing critical.

Regards,

Jan
Jan Pauler
Advisor

Dear Kumdist,