1748008 Members
4971 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

vnware convertor and physical host.

T G Manikandan
Honored Contributor

vnware convertor and physical host.

I have my physical hosts live on the network.

Initially , I thought to reconfigure everything on the VM by doing a fresh install.
Now, I have come across the vmware convertor,which seems very simple.

Can I just convert my physical server with applications to a VM directly, like cloned?
The data is on SAN on my physical host, when I move to VM, will that create a new copy on the allocated drive i.e. copy all data from volumes on physical hosts to VM?
I dont want to bring down my physical host, unless the VM is done with UAT/testing. Is that possible to have data copy and a new ip so this new VM system (created from Physical host) does not impact the original source system.

Please provide your suggestions. I am new to vmware.
4 REPLIES 4
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Re: vnware convertor and physical host.

VMware converter offers some nice features when virtualizing Windows servers (like resizing or skipping of disks, splitting partitions into independend disks, ...), but I do prefer a clean install.

This ensures an OS installation without too much history like, e.g. uninstalled hardware drivers and agents.
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

" Is that possible to have data copy and a new ip so this new VM system (created from Physical host) does not impact the original source system."

You can go as far as creating a "dummy" Vm Network that you can switch the VM to after you convert it... to bring it up live with it's proper IP address and all... all while the physical server is up and running.

While on this "dummy" network.. it won;t communicate with anything else... can't see anything else...