cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade HP-UX 10.20 to 11.00 on J2240

Mark Pezzi_1
Occasional Contributor

Upgrade HP-UX 10.20 to 11.00 on J2240

I have an Hp J2240 box that I'm preparing to upgrade/ clean install HP-UX 11.00. I am new to Unix systems with only 4 months experience, I have installed several C3000 workstations but nothing more... this system is equipped with an external storage device (no problem) and tape device (no problem).

There is a warning sticker on the front of the box stating that this requires a special version of HP-UX. What is this? Has any one installed version 11 on a J2240? Does it work well?

Thanks for any comments,
Mark
I'm new so please be patient .
4 REPLIES
Patrick Wallek
Honored Contributor

Re: Upgrade HP-UX 10.20 to 11.00 on J2240

I can't think of a reason that the j2240 would need a special version of HP-UX unless the application that it is running requires something special.

It appears that the j2240 can support both 32- and 64-bit versions of HP-UX at either 11.0 or 11i (aka 11.11).

See this links for details on OS support for various models of workstations:
http://www.hp.com/workstations/products/unix/operating/support_matrix/update.html
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi Mark:

My first reaction is "whose sticker"? We used to put radioactive stickers on our coffee cups to keep them from being "requisitioned".

I agree with Patrick. It is possible that someone wanted to make sure that certain patches were in place (?) or that an application was certified to work on a particular release and/or that particular kernel parameters were tuned following a cold-install.

...JRF...
Vito Sarducci
Regular Advisor

Mark,
I have run into this problem before with J2240's. The warning on the label indicates that a version of O/S needs to be loaded for the firmware on the mb.

Checking your firmware version;

verify the current version of your firmware, using the following steps: