108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: 2 VLAN's on Multiple Switches

SOLVED
Go to solution
EMT911inWI
Occasional Contributor

2 VLAN's on Multiple Switches

Good morning, I am in need of some assistance in configuring a second HP2910al switch I have added to my domain. Currently we are running (1) HP2910al switch with 2 VLAN's configured, one primary which is for our current network (the zero) network and one for our Shoretel Phone system (the five) network. We want to add an additional HP2910al switch to the configuration so that we can add more phones. 

I have succesfully stacked the 2 switches setting the first one as the commander and the newly added switch as a member and assigned that new switch an IP on the (zero) network. Can anyone help guide me on what I need to do next to carry those VLAN's over to the new switch. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the whole VLAN world as well as stacking.

4 REPLIES 4
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Have you interconnected both Switches by deploying a "Management Stacking" link between them (I ask that because "Commander" is a typical word used when deploying a Management Stack of Switches...it's not used when a Port Trunking is configured) or are you referring to a Port Trunking *made*not*for*management*purposes* (but made through a single link or through aggregated links) between the two?

If the interconnection approach you followed was the second (Port Trunking: single or aggregated links, it doesn't matter) - I think you didn't that - then what you just need is permitting your VLANs to flow through the Trunk (and then configuring those VLANs on the second added Switch).