Aruba & ProVision-based
1745865 Members
4614 Online
108723 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: E-4200G 48 port switch and VLAN (3com branded)

Dayron2000
Occasional Contributor

E-4200G 48 port switch and VLAN (3com branded)

Hello. I am trying to setup VLAN on my 4200G switches and Ubiquiti access points that support multiple VLANs and I am having trouble. I am new to VLAN so please forgive me if I seem ignorant to it...because I am :). I willdiscribe the scenario and I will also attach a simple diagram showing the topology and what I am trying to achieve.

Focusing on the first switch and 1 wireless AP for starters.

I first upgraded all my switch software, web interface, and bootrom to the lastes release eI could find (May 2010).

I need my wireless AP to be in VLAN1 (default for my LAN) and VLAN2 (GUEST).

VLAN1 Subnet is 192.80.x.x

VLAN2 Subnet is 192.168.x.x

Using the web interface I created VLAN2 (I'll call it GUEST from here on out).

I plugged my AP into port 39 and set that port as Hybrid and set my guest SSID for VLAN ID: 2

Port 39 is set as Untagged VLAN1 (to provide LAN connectivity to my private SSID) and tagged for VLAN2 (GUEST)

Port 47 on the switch is set as TRUNK and is NOT a member of VLAN1 and IS an untagged member of VLAN2.

Port 47 then connects to my SOnicWal's interface (labeled X04) that I configured with the idea in mind to provide internet access and DHCP to JUST VLAN2 and the VLAN2 GUEST SSID.

If I plug a device directly into my firewall's X04 interface it provides DHCP and internet as desired. However, when I plug my firewall's interface into my switch's port 47 DHCP and internet are not provided.