1752653 Members
5470 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Esx 5.1 vlans procurve

Kernemn

Esx 5.1 vlans procurve

Hello im new with vmware.
Well i have 2 esx 5.1 server with 4 nics.one procurve 2810.
I havent understood so good the vlans.for example if i want 5 vlans iselect in procurve which ports i want to use,that means that i have different thinclients in these ports for different purpose.they dont see each other?is that right?
When i i create one vswitch with all the 4 nics and i want 5 vlans what should i do in procurve?when these 4 nics are connected in procurve then i select which ports in procurve will be member of these vlans?for example 2 ports per vlan.
I dont understand also when should be tagged or untagged.
Sorry for this so easy question but im new!
Thanks in advance
2 REPLIES 2
Matcol
Frequent Advisor

VLAN tagging is done so that on a link that is carrying multiple virtual LANs, you have ID on each frame telling the switches which VLAN that frame belongs to.

Therefore, VLAN tagging is useful on links that are carrying multiple VLANs. If your link has just one VLAN, then you can leave it untagged.

If you have it untagged at one end of a link, the other end needs to also be untagged. Ditto with tagged.

HEKnet
Advisor

Hi,

actually your question is not really HP-related because the same question can be posed for every switch.

If you do not know what VLANs are, you should read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/802.1Q. The HP manual "Advanced Traffic Management Guide" has a very nice introduction, too. The pictures (especially the picture "Example of Tagged and Untagged VLAN in the same Network") should clarify, when to use tagged and/or untagged VLANs. That is too much to be repeated here. If you still have questions after reading this, then ask again a specific question about a specific statement in the manual.