ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748344 Members
5153 Online
108762 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Adding SATA RAID to GL350 G5

Chris Babb

Adding SATA RAID to GL350 G5

I'm the computer tech (read: receptionist with a bit of computer skills) for a small law firm. We're running the GL350 G5 server with three 146GB SAS drives in RAID5. The other day, the drives reached capacity. We archived some old data, but that only gave us about 10 gigs, so we're going to need an upgrade. After looking at the pricing for more SAS drives, I'm considering just buying a PCI SATA controller and running RAID1 on a couple TB SATA drives.

The questions I have are these:

1. Is this something that would be likely to cause conflict issues with this server?
2. Will the SATA drives be reliable enough that I won't need like 6 extras?
3. What would the best drives to purchase be, considering that the primary reason to purchase them is cost-effectiveness?

I appreciate any and all answers, as I'm very new to working with servers. I just want to be able to give the partners the best options. Thanks!
5 REPLIES 5
TTr
Honored Contributor

Would that be an ML350 G5 (not GL)?

If so, most likely it has an E200i SmartArray controller and has room for 8 small factor drives (or six large ones).

You can add SAS or SATA drives to the same E200i controller and you have many options.

You can add drives to the existing array or create new arrays. You can also add SAS or SATA drives but the SATA drives must be in a separate array.

The server maximum capacity drives are 146GB for SAS and 120GB for SATA (SFF) and 750GB SATA and 300GB for SAS LFF.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12475_na/12475_na.HTML

However I think you can use larger drives. The above drives were the maximum capacity available at the time the specs were written.

If you look at the E200 quickspecs you will see that large drives are supported.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12460_na/12460_na.html