1753850 Members
7391 Online
108807 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Adding disks to RAID ARRAY

RAID 5 Help
Occasional Advisor

Adding disks to RAID ARRAY

I need to add disks to my Compaq/hp Proliant ml350. It currently has 3 18.2 GB hard disks in it. I have 3 more disks of the same size and speed. The server is running Windows 2003 Enterprise Server. My question is this.

How do I add them to the array? Do I need to do it in the Hardware BIOS? And if so, how do I go about doing so, and what is the next step? (This is my first time working with RAID controllers)

I tried installing the Compaq/hp ACU (Array Configuration Utility) and the install program stated that I didn't need to install this software. I also tried to install the Intel Matrix Storage Console, which also failed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
12 REPLIES 12
KarloChacon
Honored Contributor

Re: Adding disks to RAID ARRAY

hi

do you know which controller that server has?

regards
Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
RAID 5 Help
Occasional Advisor

I believe it is a Smart Array
KarloChacon
Honored Contributor

hi

OK it that is a smart array (please check that during POST)

So Array configuration utility(ACU) should be installed with no problem (even if you don't have smart array controller it can be installed)

Which ACU version are you trying to install?
and which Windows does server have?

regards
Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
seehigh
Advisor

You need to pop the drive into the server then go to OS look for the Smart Array configuration utility ...

You dont need to change anything in BIOS ..
the Array configuration utility you need is:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=15351&prodSeriesId=1121516&prodNameId=3288134&swEnvOID=1005&swLang=8&mode=2&taskId=135&swItem=MTX-cb964bdc57f8428aa9d6d7d953

then follow these instructions
RAID 5 Help
Occasional Advisor