ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1751975 Members
4524 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion

Adding drives to ML350e Gen 8- what do i need ?

mile140
Occasional Visitor

Adding drives to ML350e Gen 8- what do i need ?

First off, i am not a server expert by any means.  Our server ML350e Gen 8, is almost out of disk space and has a failing drive in the RAID.  It is currently configured RAID 5 with 4 physical disks, equally split as a C volume and a D volume.  The C volume has a failing drive indicated and the D volume is nearly out of space. 

I have purchased 4 identical to the original drives and inserted them into the 4  remaining slots, but they do not light up and do not appear in the HP Array configuration utility.  The existing drives show up in the Dynamic Smart Array B120i RAID in Embedded Slot.  

What do i need to do or add to the server in order to use the additional drives to expand the D volume with 2 of the drives and have 1 of the drives replace the failing drive and have the 4th drive be a hot spare ?

Thank you for any assistance with this.  

Dynamic Smart Array B120i RAID in Embedded Slot
Dynamic Smart Array B120i RAID in Embedded Slot
6 REPLIES 6
PDP-Fan
Valued Contributor

Re: Adding drives to ML350e Gen 8- what do i need ?

This is a bit hard to understand... You say you have 4 disks in a RAID-5 configuration. So you only have one logigal drive, that is then split up into C and D drive on Windows.

How can drive C have failed disks?

First look into Smart Array Manager... do you see failed drives too? Then, first replace the failed drives until your existing configuration is OK again. Changing configuration on a system that has failed drives can be fatal to your data.

Then look into your server. Are the other 4 disk slots connected to the B120i? There are versions of this controller that have only one internal SAS/SATA connector, allowing you to use only 4 drives.
If that is the case, you need a different controller with two internal connectors.