ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1753779 Members
7847 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Adding more disks to RAID on ML350

John Parascak

Adding more disks to RAID on ML350

I'm a newbie to IT matters but I've been elected, so here goes...
Our server has 3 36GB drives in the array that are striped RAID 5. I'd like to add another 3 drives but hate the idea of losing space to RAID 5 since the new storage needed is for large temporary files. Is it possible to add the new drives and have them appear as a seperate physical drive that's striped RAID 0? When the new drives are inserted will I be prompted with a wizard or formatting utility or do I format everything from the Win2K Computer Management Control Panel? Thanks for the help.
5 REPLIES 5
Terry Hutchings
Honored Contributor

Re: Adding more disks to RAID on ML350

Yes you should be able to create a separate raid 0 or raid 5. Depending on the array controller, you may also be able to expand the existing array and also possible extend the existing logical drive too.

If protecting the data on these temporary files isn't critical, then you may be able to use raid 0. This would also be the safest course, at least as far as the existing raid 5 is concerned.

What the array configuration utility will do will also depend on which version you have installed. When you launch the array configuration utility, you will have a wizard come up and will walk you through the procedure.
The truth is out there, but I forgot the URL..
e4services
Honored Contributor

John,
You are correct in your thinking. You do not want to add these new drives to you existing RAID. You do want to create a Set of drives bound together into one large drive for you temp. files.
Just insert the new drives and create a RAID 0 with the 3 drives with one logical drive. You should then be able to claim the space by formating in Windows Disk Manager.
Hot Swap Hard Drives
John Parascak