Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Background parity initialization

Salemmahara
Occasional Contributor

Background parity initialization

Hello eveybody

It's my first time with Raid 50 

I've created a Raid 50 using 10 X 300G SAS HDD on DL 380 G10 with p408 controller. I found there is a message which says: 

Background parity initialization is in progress : 10% and ... . 

- Can I turn server off during this procedure and start it in another time? Or it should be complete before eveyting?

- Is it a ONE TIME process or it will repeat with any drive replacement ?

- If the answer of second question is YES, does it take a long while or cause any performance issue? I read that DELL servers don't show us new drive space before background parity initialization done . What about HPE servers? 

I thought a parity initialization with new arraived disks without any data will be complete in a few seconds! How long does it take ?

1 REPLY 1
IvBuh
Occasional Visitor

Re: Background parity initialization

Hello Salemmahara,

Here is what I can tell you:

1.Can I turn server off during this procedure and start it in another time? Or it should be complete before eveyting?

If the server is powered off during the process it will pause and continue when the server is back on.

2. Is it a ONE TIME process or it will repeat with any drive replacement ?

When a drive is replaced (or even plugged out for some reason) a rebuild proccess will be initated and the parity will be calculated/initializaed once again. In short, yes, it will go thorugh the process with every drive replacement, however it might not be as lengty as the first time.

3.If the answer of second question is YES, does it take a long while or cause any performance issue? I read that DELL servers don't show us new drive space before background parity initialization done . What about HPE servers?