cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blue Screens on DL580 and 6400R

Ayman Altounji
Valued Contributor

Blue Screens on DL580 and 6400R

I manage a Citrix Terminal server Server Farm (MetaFrame 1.8, NT 4.0, 4GB RAM, all current MS SP's, Citrix SPs, hotfixes, and compaq BIOS & support software) - with Smart array 5300 controllers and 3131 nics -
we've had 3 cpq 6400R's for about 2 years - they have had a problem with various blue-screens for quite awhile (I've been tracking for 12 months now), even after rebuilding the OS several times. The servers have been heavily loaded, and I thought that was the cause - I'm getting blue-screens approx every other day - sometimes multiple daily.

Well, 2 months ago we received 2 new DL580's w/ 3134 nics and 5300 array controllers. I've only had them online for about 4 weeks. I have started getting blue-screens on them now also.

Here is the kicker - I've got an older Cpq 5500 running Terminal Server also-same apps, but fewer users (slower cpu & less memory) Smart Array 2 controller and NetFlex nic - I haven't had a single blue screen on that server - NOT ONE!!!

I am totally at a loss to explain this. I am about to replace the NIC cards on the 6400 & DL580 with older ones from another server, and perhaps set the array controllers to read-only cache. I am willing to take any suggestions.
4 REPLIES 4
Ayman Altounji
Valued Contributor

Re: Blue Screens on DL580 and 6400R