ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1752594 Members
3035 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Can the onbord RAID controller support 2 arrays with ease?

SOLVED
Go to solution
RickTw
Occasional Advisor

Can the onbord RAID controller support 2 arrays with ease?

Hi,
I'm very new to RAID, but understand the concepts and how to setup an array etc, although I have only done it a couple of times.

I have an ML110G5 with onborad RAID controller.
In the past (with non raid systems) I have always had my OS on C:Drive and data on D:Drive.

I want to continue this practice with my ML110 using RAID 1, but I'm worried if the onboard controller will be able to handle two RAID1 arrays (Drive C:array 1) & (Drive D:array 2).

My question...
Is the chip robust enough to handle this, or will it be pushing it's limits and prone to errors?
10 REPLIES 10
TTr
Honored Contributor

Re: Can the onbord RAID controller support 2 arrays with ease?

Everything is relative in this case. If you have a high i/o demand from your server you should be looking at a better raid solution (SAS disk based) and even at a better server. For casual i/o that's what the ML110 and the onboard SATA raid system are for.
marcus1234
Honored Contributor

yes the chip is robust enough for this ,,
but if it is anything critical i would make a tape backup every day incremental one..

the servers that are 350 series and up have much better raid systems hardware based entirely,but cost more ....hmm..
I would also get a dat usb tape drive

points appreciated

This is how you thank in the forum

http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/helptips.do?#33

enjoy :)

RickTw
Occasional Advisor

Thanks TTr and mark1234 for your feedback.

In response to both of your comments, I may have a fairly high i/o demand from the server, but looking at a better raid solution or higher spec server is not an option (financially) at the moment, hence my purchase of these machines. I am hoping they will suffice for the time being.