ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748123 Members
3318 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Can we use M2 2280 nvme onboard for OS install, and whole disks array in raid mode for data stor

QuangLe

Can we use M2 2280 nvme onboard for OS install, and whole disks array in raid mode for data store?

Hello Everyone

I have two HPE DL20 gen10 and planned to install the M2 2280 nvme ssd for OS install
the 6 SAS drives on one raid5 logical volume with HP H240 storage controller raid card  will be used for data storage only.
So the question is: Can we just normal install OS onto M2 SSD then going to disk management on windows server create a parition and use it ? and how the samsung 970 evo 500G nvme card compatibe ? i know there will be some issue with 3rd party part since the mis-report temp will cause of fan over 70%. But that not the end of the world since we just out the server in lab 

I'm new to HPE product and not expert on this subject, just buy and deploy for internal development, lab test  use only.

Thanks everyone

3 REPLIES 3
SanjeevGoyal
HPE Pro

Re: Can we use M2 2280 nvme onboard for OS install, and whole disks array in raid mode for data stor

Hello,

You can install OS in M2 2280 NVME drives. 

Please follow the DL20 quick specs for further clarifications  

https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/v2/getdocument.aspx?docname=a00053820enw

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   

Regards,

I am a HPE Employee.
[Any personal opinions expressed are mine, and not official statements on behalf of Hewlett Packard Enterprise]

Accept or Kudo

vin-in-it
Occasional Visitor

Hi,  

Not trying to hijack this thread, but I have a similar question, about what hardware is required for onboard OS Boot (DL20 Gen 10).  

I also would like to run the OS on the onboard M.2 NVMe 2280 and leave the disk drives for file storage.