7479 Online
108805 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Compaq Proliant 3110

Matthew Doe
Occasional Advisor

Compaq Proliant 3110

Hi All,

Just bought a Compaq Proliant 3110 (P66), and im very new to Servers... but ok with PCs ! , Here's the deal - i put all the leads in, and went to turn it on and .. ........ Nothing hapend ! .. was thinking it might be the power switch or PSU ... I'm a student so hope these things don't cost a bomb ! ... Anyone got any ideas what i can try and where i can get a PSU for the Compaq Proliant 3110 !

Cheerz
Matt Doe
12 REPLIES 12
Mark Cloutier
Respected Contributor

Re: Compaq Proliant 3110

Hi Matt,
Can you please provide me the serial number fo the 3110 please.

Mark
We are here for a good time, not a long time!
Matthew Doe
Occasional Advisor

Hi, i haven't got a clue where to find the Serial number ... There is a sticker on the back of the machine that says the model number ... and tons of info.. and at bottom it says

148439-006 S2 DP

is that it ?
I haven't got any manuals with it either !
Cheerz matt
Matthew Doe
Occasional Advisor

I have been trying to see if it is the PSU or not, but i never been in a server before "just this one" and the PSU in this thing is werd =/ ... i did hear a Buzzing Comeing from it once or twice.. but now nothing ...

It hasn't been tested in 18 months, and has been in a damp place... garage i think, as there was damp all on the HDDs and case :S ... got abit rusty at bottom of case.... but nothing bad !

Hope that helpd in anyway .. as i might try taking apart the PSU and seeing if i can see what's going on in there.. but i won't do anything without your guys say so.. just i don't wana be spending tons on a PSU and find out it's not the PSU in the first place !

Cheerz matt
Mark Cloutier
Respected Contributor

Are you sure this is a Proliant?
The serial number is usually 12 digits long. Both number and letters.
Matthew Doe
Occasional Advisor