1752295 Members
5058 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: DL380 G3 not booting from CD

Josephine Fahy
Occasional Contributor

DL380 G3 not booting from CD

Hi, I have seen this topic in quite a few places and have tried all the suggestions so far but I can't get anything to work.

I have acquired 3 DL380 G3 servers. I have set them all to attempt to boot from CD first and burned the SmartStart CD iso (7.90). The cd drive is checked during boot but then ignored. The system message says there is no valid boot disk. This happens on all 3 servers.

I have tried an Ubuntu server boot disk which is also ignored.

I tried booting my Windows machine with the SmartStart cd and it recognised it and tried to boot so I do not feel there is anything wrong with the CD.

I have set as many options as I can to defaults and reset the NVRAM options in the RBSU.

I am new to this and feel I am missing something really basic. Any help would be appreciated.
12 REPLIES 12
Mauricio Salas
Frequent Advisor

Have you try with the Standard Boot order? set the CD on the first place
Josephine Fahy
Occasional Contributor

The settings are:

Standard Boot Order:
1. CD-ROM
2. Floppy Drive (A:)
3. Hard Drive (C:)
4. PCI Embedded HP NC7781 Gigabit Server Adapter Port 1

The Boot Controllers are:
1. PCI HP Smart Array 5i
2. HP Integrated PCI IDE

I formatted a floppy on my Windows XP machine and managed to boot the servers from that.

All three servers are behaving the same way and all access the CD at the correct time and in the correct sequence...but ignore the SmartStart CD and all other bootable CD's and goes straight on to the floppy. Because three servers are behaving the same way I do not feel there is anything wrong with the CD drives.

These are all second hand machines taken from the same site with no manuals or accompanying CDs.

The SmartStart CD is able to boot up my Windows XP machine so doesn't appear to have anything wrong with it.
Josephine Fahy
Occasional Contributor