108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: DL380 G5 with P400 Controller - SAS & SATA disk query

SOLVED
Go to solution
pjf39

DL380 G5 with P400 Controller - SAS & SATA disk query

Hi

I'm new to supporting servers and have a problem which I'm hoping someone can help resolve.

I've searched these forums for 2 days and cannot find a similar query which has been answered.

Have DL380 server running out of disk space. Currently has 2 disks (RAID 1) for OS and 6 x disks (SAS 146GB in RAID 5) for Data. Boss has bought 6 500GB SATA drives to replace the 6 SAS drives but when we replaced the first SAS Disk with a SATA disk, the ACU cannot identify it and "fails" the disk - it doesn't rebuild the array. P400 already had it's firmware updated to latest (and BIOS update too) which was supposed to fix a problem with it failing good SATA drives.

Can P400 in a DL380 have a combination of both types of drive in the same RAID 5 array or do all disks need to be replaced at once and data restored from backup?

Any help very much appreciated.

Thanks
9 REPLIES 9
gregersenj
Honored Contributor
Solution

You can have mixed drives on the controller.

But you can't mix drives within an array.

BR
/jag

Accept or Kudo

pjf39

Not the reply I was hoping for but I suspected that may be the case.

Thanks very much for the clarification.
gregersenj
Honored Contributor

You're welcome.

Note, aboute the mixing. It is SAS / SATA !!

If you put in larger SAS drives in, it will rebuild fine.

BR
/jag

Accept or Kudo

andrew rowley
Visitor

Similar - but different

We have a DL380 G5 - been running with 6 x 500GB Sata disks for some time - thought we would use some SAS 10K disks to fill in the spare slots (so no change to existing array) - tried 4 different HP 10k 73GB SAS disks all failed with steady orange and ACU could not see them but a sata disk was recognised in both of the slots so no problem with the P400 or cage???

Andrew

Goutham_Sabala
Esteemed Contributor

Hi Andrew,