4398 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

DL380 G6 and RAID performance

Julius Verne
Occasional Contributor

DL380 G6 and RAID performance

Hi there,

I'm looking to run Citrix XenServer on a DL380 G6 which is fully loaded with 8 300GB drives. I am debating if I should create one large RAID-5 container across all of the drives, or if I should create two separate RAID-5 arrays: one on each channel.

I'm going to be running VM's on this and am just wondering if the performance of doing it one way or the other would be really noticeable or negligible.

Thanks experts,

Julian
12 REPLIES 12
Cederberg
Honored Contributor

Re: DL380 G6 and RAID performance

Hi.

I'm no expert but i'm under the impression that the bigger the raid 5 the more I/O it can handle.

This is how i would set up the raid.

2 disks on diffrent channels in Raid1+0 for OS.

6 disks in RAID5 (3 on each channel) for VM's

but it seems like a waste of space with 300gb disks in a mirror for the OS. And as i said i'm no expert with raid and I/O. this is just my thoughts.

Check out Citrix best practices.
Michael Steele_2
Honored Contributor

Hi

a) you don't stripe the O/S. The above should be changed to O/S raid 1 (* mirroring only *)

b) You'll getter faster performance with raid1 than raid5
Support Fatherhood - Stop Family Law
Michael Steele_2
Honored Contributor

c) If you have firmware raid option then you should use it.

d) Don't combine O/S LVM raid with firmware raid
wobbe
Respected Contributor

I would used raid 1+0.
Michael Steele_2
Honored Contributor

Hi

The problems with raid 10 is in its administration and debatable performance inhencement. Not all get better performance because of the file system overhead where the primary disk constally goes back and forth forever.