ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748236 Members
3643 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: DL380 - Logical / Fixed Drives / dont show in windows 2000

Lost_1

DL380 - Logical / Fixed Drives / dont show in windows 2000

Alright, somewhat of a newbie here when it comes to configuring a server version. Running Windows 2000 Server on this system. All installed ok. However, it states I have one logical drive on the intergrated array smart controller card along with two other fixed drives. Why dont these drives show up in Windows 2000? How do I gain access to them? Would like them to be the backup source of files...

8 REPLIES 8
Dave Lloyd
Advisor

You set up drives from disk manager in 2000.
If you're referring to the boot screen when the server starts, the logical disk is the array you set up on the array controller. When you set up the array with SmartStart, you can create logical partitions...eg, 2*18GB drive can be set as RAID1, then you can create 2 logical partitions of say 9GB each.
On boot, the array will say 2 logical drives and windows will see 2 'physical' disks in disk manager. Of course, you won't see a drive letter for the 2nd partition/'disk' until you format it.

Dave
Lost_1

Alright, I dont have the smartstart program, but I have updated all the drivers etc. It has been set up with one logical drive with two physical drives underneath it on boot up under intergrated smart array controller. However when it boots into windows it only shows the one logical. Even when I go into disk manager, it only shows the one. How do I go about formatting the other two if I only have access to the one drive which already has windows 2000 on it?
Dave Lloyd
Advisor

Do you get the option for F8 when the array is initialising. Something like 'press F8 to configure array'
If so, press it and check out the array config.