New Discussion юеВ

DL580 fans slowly ruining my hearing

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mr Booka
Occasional Advisor

DL580 fans slowly ruining my hearing

Hello,

I and a student and I have a dl580 in my possesion and was practicing with windows server 2000 with it. I have the operating system with service pack 4 and the proliant support pack, latest version, installed. The fans are running full blast. How do I throttle these things down? I do not see the cpqhealth driver installed on the system. Is this the driver that controlls the fans? I thought that the proliant support pack installed this? Do I need a different driver? Does anyone have any ideas. I am a newbie so please be gentle. Thanks in advance.
12 REPLIES 12
Ananthak23
Trusted Contributor

Re: DL580 fans slowly ruining my hearing

Looks like Management agents are not running. Go to Services panel and make sure HP Foundation, Server, System Management Homepage, SNMP services are running. Also try rebooting the Server. As far as I know, during the initial boot the Fans will run at its maximum speed, once the Agents are loaded it has to come down to the normal operating speed.

Hope this helps...

-Anantha
Tv_3
Respected Contributor

Hi,

Can you check within insight manager or the system managements homepage whats the average temperature is?
IS your temperature in a warning zone?

You can always throttle the fan speed within the BIOS, their are know issues, rompaq etc who set the speed of the fan to HIGH, you can change it within RBSU (F9)

Sincerly.
Chaos, Panic or Disaster??? Always Stay Calm, I will fix it.
Mr Booka
Occasional Advisor

Thanks for the quick replies,

Anatha, I checked the services panel and all of the services that you mentioned are running.