ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1752810 Members
5871 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Debian on HP Proliant DL320e Gen8 v2: Hardware RAID not recognized.

Holamundo

Debian on HP Proliant DL320e Gen8 v2: Hardware RAID not recognized.

Hi all, I have read a lot of documentation from HP (user manuals, specs, array storage manual, etc) so I have some knowledge of my Proliant server. I also have a great experience on debian, but I fail to master RAID issues.

I want to install debian on the aforementioned server, which is configured to use RAID 1 with the ACU utility.

The problem is that debian installer doesn't recognize the RAID configuration, althoug the cciss driver si loaded.

The configuration of the server is as follows:

• BIOS - P80 - 3/28/2014
  • 1 procesors 4 cores, Intel(r) Xeon E2-1220 v3 @ 3.10GHz
  • HP Dynamic Smart Array B120i Raid controller (v3.54.0) in Embbedded Slot
    • SATA Array A. Logical Drive 1, configured as RAID 1
      • 4 TB SATA HDD 1|:1
      • 4 TB SATA HDD 2|:2

So far, I have the following questions:

* Must I install the propietary HP drivers (hpdsa-ubuntu) for debian to recognize the hardware RAID?

* If I rule out the hardware RAID and go on with sofware RAID, must I disable hardware RAID?

Thanks in advance.

1 REPLY 1
Jimmy Vance
HPE Pro

Re: Debian on HP Proliant DL320e Gen8 v2: Hardware RAID not recognized.

@Holamundo wrote:

Hi all, I have read a lot of documentation from HP (user manuals, specs, array storage manual, etc) so I have some knowledge of my Proliant server. I also have a great experience on debian, but I fail to master RAID issues.

I want to install debian on the aforementioned server, which is configured to use RAID 1 with the ACU utility.

The problem is that debian installer doesn't recognize the RAID configuration, althoug the cciss driver si loaded.

The configuration of the server is as follows:

• BIOS - P80 - 3/28/2014
  • @1 procesors 4 cores, Intel(r) Xeon E2-1220 v3 @ 3.10GHz