ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1751871 Members
5404 Online
108782 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Did HPE even test "Lifecycle management" "Always on" ?

SOLVED
Go to solution
YoMarK
Occasional Visitor

Did HPE even test "Lifecycle management" "Always on" ?

I'm a IT consultant for 17 years now, and installed probably thousands of servers in my life. Also used HPE intelligent provisioning in the past. 

But what I've experienced today was horrible.  I'm trying to install Windows 2022 on a brand new DL380 Gen10 using Intelligent Provisioning version : 3.70.46 "Always on". 

The whole process is prone to errors(weird stuff like SNTP or pre-existing RAID array configuration that already exists or failing to detected "linked network card" of whatever that means completely ruining the “jobs” so you’ll have to start over by resetting the whole thing by using a API call using using ssh - because else it just tries to continue but it never boots in a working environment anymore) and session timeouts like you would expect it to be in 2001 but not in 2022. How is it possible that you are in the middle of the process of copying 5GB of data(with a speed op 20Mbit/sec??) and then after about 4GB you see the browser session time out and then the "Intelligent provisioning"  stills tries to reboot the system and complete the WinPE setup which of course horribly fails with scripts errors because of missing files. I've written powershell scripts in 20 seconds with more error handling then this.  How difficult could it be to just CHECK if the data is copied correctly before trying to start some badly written batch files. 

Did anyone at HPE ever test this?

It's now the third time I'm starting the long wait of the "rapid" setup, lets hope it works better this time(by using SMB as a file source....).,

Edit: SMB did work alot better and faster.  It seems impossible to install any windows version with a bigger ISO then 4GB by using the "virtual media" option from the browser. 

6 REPLIES 6