ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1752618 Members
4583 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Expand E drive without losing data in NT Server

Shabir

Expand E drive without losing data in NT Server

I have a Compaq Proliant 3000 server with three 9.1 hard drives. It is a memeber server running Windows NT 4.0 serice Packs is 6a. We are running Exchange 5.5 and the database and other applications are also installed in drive E which has not space now. We have added addtitional three more hard disks to the existing controller and expanded the array and logical volume. From the Windows Disk Management, I can see this as free space. Now I want to add this free space to the existing E drive without losing data. Please help me by telling how we can do that. I searched a lot of places on the web but there is no direct or understadable answer for me as I am not a computer expert. Somebody suggested to buy Volume Manager from Powerquest but it is too expensive. Is there a software available from HP or Compaq? Or from microsoft? Please help
5 REPLIES 5
Terri Harris
Honored Contributor

The most important point is that your options are dependent on what Microsoft NT 4.0 Server will allow you to do. The operating system does not really know there is a hardware RAID array. As far as NT is concerned, you had a single physical drive (which is actually 3 9GB drives in a logical hardware array), and now you have added one more drive (physically 3 drives but again NT sees it as one new physical drive).

So the real question is what options you have in NT 4.0 Disk Adminstrator. This is dependent on what other partitions have been created, and the type of partition for each. I would recommend posting this question in the HP Microsoft NT 4 forum:

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/categoryhome.do?categoryId=186