ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748143 Members
3582 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Fan noise for various ProLiant servers (ML110, ML150, ...)

Ol4Ma
Occasional Advisor

Fan noise for various ProLiant servers (ML110, ML150, ...)

Several threads (especially from a couple of years ago) ask support about the increased fan speed of the Proliant servers after the addition of PCIe expansion boards, like an additional SATA or SAS controller.

I own a ML110 G7 and in my case (as example) the standard fan speed was 13% without PCIe boards, it went up to 39% (three times the original one!!!) after the addition of a simple, non-RAID, SATA PCIe 4x card which produces basically no heat.

I have no experience with Windows and its drivers taking control of the fan speed, since the server is running illumos, but it appears I am not the only one.

Just to summarise:

- BIOS, iLO updates/resets do nothing: after a few minutes, the PCIe fan (in my case labeled "Fan 8") goes back to normal

- this is a "feature", HP plans (well, "planned", since the product is old) no changes

- the fan connector is technically non-standard (5 pins, where the two used for GND are shorted together to signal the presence of a fan connected), but very similar to a standard one: except for the additional, shorted GND, it's a normal 12V fan with SENSE from the fan and PWM speed control to the fan

- the BIOS does NOT read the actual value of the fan SENSE signal, as long as it is present: if the fan goes at a different speed than planned, BIOS is happy anyway. However take out that signal wire and EVERY other fan in the case will spin full-speed, but take out the fan connector completely and the motherboard will start beeping as if there were no tomorrow