1753926 Members
8823 Online
108810 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

HP ProLiant ML350 G3 failure planning?

ADI_KTS
Occasional Visitor

HP ProLiant ML350 G3 failure planning?

greetings HP community, I come to you hoping that I might get some direction because I'm in a bit of a strange situation.

I recently took over the Tech Manager position at a small business. A part of this position is taking care of IT for the facility, something I have very little experience with. I've gotten a grip on most aspects of the situation, but the one thing I've yet to nail down is proper emergency planning for the ProLiant ML350 G3 at the facility.

The ML350 runs Microsoft Small Business Server 2003. It's purpose is to host our Mail (using Exchange, something that's easy enough to understand) and to run a scheduling program called ScheduAll, which requires SQL (something I have no familiarity with at all).

I currently have a .bkf and ASR diskette for this machine (created from the Windows Backup utility), but I'm not exactly sure how to apply it in the event of a failure; I've read conflicting accounts.

In any case, any council on how to properly restore with a .bkf, or any other info on how to proceed in the event of a failure would be greatly appreciated.

I'll answer any questions about the set up as best I can.

Thanks very much.
4 REPLIES 4
Trygve Henriksen
Respected Contributor

Re: HP ProLiant ML350 G3 failure planning?

What kind of backup routines do you have?

Does your backup system have a 'Disaster restore' function?

(Can be called a lot of things)

Those disks you have are commonly used to attempt repairing a broken Windows.

Personally, I don't bother.

It's often much quicker to just reinstall the OS from scratch, and you don't have to bother with all the crap and erors in Registry.

(I hope all your data is on another drive than the OS)

Do you have any training in installing and managing 2003? If not, get it as quickly as possible.