ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1753971 Members
8432 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP Proliant DL 140 G3 - How to turn on Raid 0?

SOLVED
Go to solution
C.Garside
Frequent Advisor

HP Proliant DL 140 G3 - How to turn on Raid 0?

Hello HP Users,

I am very new to HP hardware and infact I have just bought a HP Proliant DL 140 G3. I have installed 2x Western Digital Raptor Drives @ 74GIG 10RPM each.

I have many questions with this server, IMPI, Raid, CPU Heatsinks etc but I will keep this post spacific to the first issue, Raid Configuration / Activation.

I am very new to raid & this is the first time I have ever used anything other than IDE without Raid.

I have installed Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2 sucessfully. I have installed all drivers supplied on the HP disk which came with the server.

I am now at the stage of wanting to configure the "Embeded Raid Controller" however I am unsure how to do this and more spacifically how to make my 2 hard drives run in a Raid 0 configuration.

I have consulted the manual with no joy. I have downloaded the driver for installing the Raid driver on a Windows 2003 operating system, Thsi is called "cp007490.exe" however it said I cannot install the driver as I have no hardware for it.

Additionally, This server for some reason does not have a floppy disk controller so I cannot make a floppy bootable diskett.

I am very confused as to what to do now.

Very sorry for the lost post but I felt if I wanted help from the HP community I should include as much relevent information as possible.

Any help would be very much appriciated.

Thank You.
5 REPLIES 5
James ~ Happy Dude
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hello,

Refer:
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1170542

If you have installed the OS, refer the link in that post; If you need to install the OS with RAID, you may use the nLITE software;

& yes, You are not alone figuring this out, this has baffled many !

;)

Regards,
James.
C.Garside