ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1753746 Members
5158 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HPE "Intelligent Provisioning" - faaaaar away from being intelligent or the "most

Stephan G
Regular Advisor

HPE "Intelligent Provisioning" - faaaaar away from being intelligent or the "most advanced solution"

Hi everyone,
i deployed many servers with Smart Start back in the days.
Today i tried to install Win2019 with intelligent provisioning from a network drive. Before that - i wanted to update the firmware from the Web. (Server attached to internet).
Setup over ILO5 with Adv Lic

First - HPE Intelligent Prov - Frist start - Setup. 
Why do you use that many design elements? I am an administrator no end user. Transfering it to ILO with moving elements just suck and needs extra time.
And why do you only offer english and japanese keyboard layouts.
Done configuring - 10 minutes

Second - Firmware Updates. Search for the newest one. Server has BIOS U32 v2.36 - is marked as current from HPE Intelligent Prov - well that does not seem right. I gave up to find the problem about that.
20 mins wasted

Third - OS Deployment
Design and mouse performance sucks bad - but hey. Administrators salary is cheap isnt it.
The popup if you enter the password wrong at the network dialog takes 5 seconds!!! to be clickable

Going back to the old deployment method - bootable USB Stick + SPP after deployment. Please get me an patch to get rid of this garbage from my servers. Thank you.

BR

Stephan

3 REPLIES 3
ksram
HPE Pro

Re: HPE "Intelligent Provisioning" - faaaaar away from being intelligent or the "most

Hi @Stephan G ,

Good day!

Thank you for the Post.

We understand that you have faced issues while setting up the Server.

Intelligent Provisioning is a Single-Server deployment tool embedded in ProLiant servers and HPE Synergy compute modules which simplifies server Setup, providing a reliable and consistent way to deploy servers.