ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1752577 Members
5183 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Help using a seperate raid controller with a proliant ML330

Keith Dinser

Help using a seperate raid controller with a proliant ML330

Greetings all, I'm pretty new to setting up servers and such, so please go easy on me if I ask stupid questions. I'm setting up a proliant ML330 server that we had in our warehouse for a customer who wants 2 18 gig HDD's set up in a mirrored pair. I get lots of errors if pull out the scsi card that came with the unit so I'm assuming that has to remain in place. The card has a jumper block on it, is it possible to disable the scsi controller on the card so I can use a seperate raid controller?

Card Part number is Spare#176608-001
6 REPLIES 6
Sunil Jerath
Honored Contributor

Re: Help using a seperate raid controller with a proliant ML330

Hello Keith,
The P/N you have mentioned in your message is a Server feature board which cannot be taken out or the server wont boot. In any case you do not need to disable the SCSI Controller which is onboard this feature board. Just install the SCSI controller and go in the System partition and make sure it's recoganized by the system. Save and exit and then you should be all set to go.

Regards,
Gert Luyten
Respected Contributor

I'll add something to this: if you are new to Proliant servers, you must make sure you have the following tools/knowledge:
- generation of the ML330 you have (if it's opal color=Generation1, carbon color =Generation 2 or 3). This has it's affect on the BIOS configuration tool.
- the Smartstart CD's that come with the server (can be version 5.x or 6.x)
- if the server contains a RAID controller (usually a Smart Array or a lower-end LC2 or LC3). If it doesn't, you can use the built-in SCSI channel to configure software RAID1 but I recommend against it (and underline against)!!