4917 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: How to Upgrade ProLiant ML350 G2 Hard Drives in RAID5

Wickwood
Occasional Advisor

How to Upgrade ProLiant ML350 G2 Hard Drives in RAID5

Hello,

Pardon my total noob question here, but I'm doing my best to help a friend out of jam and this is not my area of expertise at all.  I've also searched all over for this answer, to the best of my ability, but I have not found the answer.

So here's the situation:

My friend has a ProLiant ML350 G2 with 3x18.2 GB Hard Drives in what we believe is a RAID 5.  The ProLiant ML350 G2 has 6 bays, so 3 of them are empty. 

The array is full and we want to upgrade the drives to 3x72.8 GB Hard Drives.

And my questions are:

1.  How can we confirm that the original set of 3 drives are in a RAID 5?

2.  How can we confirm that the original set of 3 drives are hot pluggable/swappable?

3.  What is the procedure for upgrading the 3 drives to the new 3x72.8 GB Hard Drives and migrating the data from the original drives? 

Thanks for your help in advance!!!

All the best,

Steve

12 REPLIES 12
Goutham_Sabala
Esteemed Contributor

How can we confirm that the original set of 3 drives are in a RAID 5?

> If it is a windows system go to Programs and HP utilites and go to Array configuration Utility and you should find the type of Raid

OR , you can boot to ORCA -F8 at start the server which is the bios of the controller to check what raid it is on.

How can we confirm that the original set of 3 drives are hot pluggable/swappable?

> Hard drive will have a Colored Tab - Red on the handle Or just google the spare part number of the hard drive

What is the procedure for upgrading the 3 drives to the new 3x72.8 GB Hard Drives and migrating the data from the original drives? 

> Best way is to backup data and install 3 new drives and create raid 5 { Recommended}