ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1751791 Members
5033 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to check array is mirroring data? Boot from mirror?

Callum Bennetts
Occasional Advisor

How to check array is mirroring data? Boot from mirror?

I'm trying to find a way to reliably check that my raid 1 array is mirroring data.

I don't want to go down the route of pulling out disks as there must be an easier way. I'm fairly new to servers so was wondering if anyone can tell me if its possible to boot from the mirrored drive to check it? I thought HP would have come up with an easier solution (CD or something) is there anything available?

Thanks for your help.
11 REPLIES 11
K240
Occasional Advisor

If there is not any error indication for the disks and you correctly set up a RAID1 mirror, data should be consistent. There should be possible to boot up from any drive used in mirror.
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

You did not tell what server, what controller and what OS you are using. However, most raid adapters present a logical drive to the OS, the physical drives are just under HBA control only. So you can use tools like ACU to check the status.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Callum Bennetts
Occasional Advisor

Sorry I forgot to add my hardware. I'm running a Proliant ML115 and P400 Smart Array.

I've set the disks up as a raid 1 mirror in ACU and it reports that everything is running fine however I don't just want to take the programs word for it I actually want to be able to see what data is on each drive. As far as I know there is no way to do this in ACU so being able to boot from the mirror is one possibility however I have no idea how to do this as am a bit of a newbie.

Can anyone help?

Callum Bennetts
Occasional Advisor

just to add also there is data on the drive as i installed a base os (ubuntu server).
gregersenj
Honored Contributor

Callum