5769 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

I got a Proliant 5000 but don't know how to make it run

SOLVED
Go to solution
Eric Yeh_1

I got a Proliant 5000 but don't know how to make it run

My Proliant 5000 come without a HDD, So I want to use Live CD(knoppix) to run it, but when it's booting, it says it only have 13MB ram...so it can't boot correctly.Then I install a IDE card and a IDE cdrom and a bootable IDE HDD, but nothing happen...BIOS seems don't support to boot from other device, and I use FedoraCore live cd to boot it...nothing happen but tell me to insert a bootable media....if I insert a winXP bootable cd, it shows some error message.
Please tell me what can I do??should I go get some compaq SCSI 2 HDD with the same part No. in the menual??
I only use PC before,This is my first time to use this kind of computer(server)...don't know how to deal with it.Please help me.
7 REPLIES 7
JohnWRuffo
Honored Contributor

Re: I got a Proliant 5000 but don't know how to make it run

Eric:

You need to use the System Configuration Utility from here:
http://h18000.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/13227.html
You will need 4 diskettes to build this SoftPAQ.

Be sure to select your boot controller order and to set your O/S selection to Unix or Linux.
Enjoy!

Do you need help with your HP product?
Try this: http://www.hp.com/support/hpgt
Eric Yeh_1

John
Thanks a lot.
I download and made 4 disk.But during configuration, only 3 disk was needed,is that correct?
I set the boot other to A->CDROM->C(default)
and set OS to Linux.
But when I insert a redhat 9 boot cd to install,it's still show me "not enought memory" then hang.....why?? I don't have any HDD on this server yet(I'm starting to looking for compaq scsi2 HDD on ebay now :P ),if I install HDD onto this server...will this "not enough memory" problem be solved??(by swap on fix disk)
It's really different to install a OS on a PC and a Compaq server....It's killing me.....
Thanks a lot for helping me.