ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1753472 Members
4594 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Ignorant English teacher can't install Win 2000 on ML370: can't see my SCSI drive

Kevin_202

Ignorant English teacher can't install Win 2000 on ML370: can't see my SCSI drive

I'm an English teacher working in Saudi Arabia who knows zilch about servers. I have inherited a ProLiant ML370 server which runs 20 worksatations as a language lab. All the computers had the 32Blaster virus so I upgraded the OEM Win 2000 system to SP3 and installed the system fix. Unhappy with the servers setup (there was no record of how it had been put together, no support docs, no disks and we have no network administrator) I managed to scrounge V.5 of the Smart Start and set about re-formatting and starting from scratch. I have one SCSI 9.1G surrounded by lots of 'dummy' cartridges. There is obviously no RAID setup. After using the Smart Start to wipe the system, upgrade the config. etc I indicated that I wanted to use Win 2000 and ran the setup to the bit where it told me to remove Smart Start and insert the Win 2000 CD. I set Win 2000 as the system in the F10. Win 2000 runs until I get to the bit where it asks me to press 'enter' to install...then I get a message saying there is no disk available. When I re-boot I get the 'non-system' disk message. Doubtless, I've done something really silly. Can anybody help?
Kevin
3 REPLIES 3
Zigor Buruaga
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Ignorant English teacher can't install Win 2000 on ML370: can't see my SCSI drive

Hi,

First, sorry for my english ;-)
Try this, maybe could help you:

When you insert your W2K CD, a few seconds after, in the blue screen, you will see a message ( in the bottom of the screen ) that says something like "Press F6 to add additional SCSI drivers" ( don't remember exactly ).
Press F6, and when prompted insert the floppy with the drivers of your array.