7526 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion

Inventory Proliant DL and ML servers

SOLVED
Go to solution
GeertMe

Inventory Proliant DL and ML servers

I was wondering if there are any tools available that can be used to create, remotely, an extended inventory of 150+ servers.

I know of HP Insight Diagnostics, but I don't want to login on all the servers or install any extra software or reboot the servers.

Dou you have any suggestions?

Sincerely.

3 REPLIES 3
Bart_Heungens
Honored Contributor

Re: Inventory Proliant DL and ML servers

Hi,

With HP SIM you can do a discovery of all servers, and all data will be stored in a database.

After that, Reporting is available inside HP SIM in several flavours and completely customizable...

Fully automated, no scripting...

Kr,

Bart

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post was useful, clik on my KUDOS! "White Star" !
GeertMe

Hey Bart,

Thx for the answer.

I'm rather new to HP servers. The problem is that I don't know if the HP SIM agents are installed / available on all the servers. At the moment we don't have the rights to install additional software on the clients production servers. We need to do a full inventory without installing or rebooting the machines.

We already got a big part with some WMI scripts, but this way you can't get all the bios settings and controller firmware versions.

Isn't there some stand-alone HP tool you can use to read the bios / raid controllers settings?

Grtz,

Geert

Bart_Heungens
Honored Contributor
Solution

If the servers were installed (like it should be) with a SMartstart CD, then the necessary agents are installed inside the server to do the full collection...

If SNMP is installed inside the OS, also through SNMP can be detected a lot of things...

If the agents are not installed, to install the Systems Mgmt Homepage and the Insight Agents, you don't need to reboot a server... Off course you need the rights on the server...