1748148 Members
3774 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

LTO5 Ultrium 3000 SAS Int Tape Backup

yawming
Occasional Contributor

LTO5 Ultrium 3000 SAS Int Tape Backup

I just purchase a HP ML350p with an internal tape without any tape backup software.  I am totally new to the operation of this system.  I have installed Windows 2008 R2 and hope to use Windows backup to backup the data. 

I checked the device manager and the Ultrium5 tape seems to be properly installed, but I could not find any drive letter associated with the tape.  Is it possible or necessary to associate the tape with a drive letter?

I launch Windows backup and test it with backup once option, select custom backup and the folder I want to backup.  The two options I have are the drive letter and remote share server MyFileServer\SharedFolderName

Thanks in advance for your help.

4 REPLIES 4
MiguelC
Frequent Advisor

Re: LTO5 Ultrium 3000 SAS Int Tape Backup

Hi Good Morning from here

Try HP Data Protector it works see the link bellow :

http://www8.hp.com/us/en/software-solutions/software.html?compURI=1175640

Good Luck

yawming
Occasional Contributor

I managed to download and install HP LTFS Configutation software which allows me to map the tape as a drive letter.  When I proceed to create the map drive with the tape loaded it says it is not LTFS format.  Being a brand new tape, I proceed to format but the message was formatting volume failed.  Errors attached.

I could simply go and buy another tape but having taken so long to locate the appropriate software, I rather suspect I have missing or not up to date software.  Any suggestions?

Ming

MiguelC
Frequent Advisor

Hello,

Tape you are using is it WORM ? Write once ready many ?

Send you a link with several options to be sure .

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&prodSeriesId=4150338&objectID=c02096846#A3

Hope it helps

yawming
Occasional Contributor