1752815 Members
4186 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: ML310 G5 Raid1 Drive Replace

IET
Occasional Contributor

ML310 G5 Raid1 Drive Replace

Let me start by saying I'm not an IT pro by any means and my knowledge with servers is limited.  I also tried searching various things in this forum and searching the web but still have questions without answers.

We have a Proliant ML310 G5 running Windows 2008 W32.  It was purchased in 2008.  Is configured in Raid 1 with two 250gb drives.  Upon boot HP array controller (I assume) is telling me SMART on drive #2 has failed and should be replaced.  I ordered and just received the replacement drive for it however I'm not sure on the correct procedure to replace on this server.  The controller does not seem to be hot-swap capable so assume the computer needs to be off.  

Questions....

1)  If I power off, replace the defective drive, and reboot will it automatically detect and rebuild the array or do I need to go into a drive utility first?

2)  The System Rom, Drive Controller, etc has probably never been updated.  How can I find out the version numbers for these that are currently installed so I know to update them?  Or, can I just use the Online Update Utility?  Is this installed by default or do I need to install and is it accessible via the Bios or somewhere else?

Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3
Suman_1978
HPE Pro

Hi,

If the drives are Hot Plug, you can replace it online, no need to switch off the server.

To check the firmware versions, check during POST, alternatively check the System Management Homepage and Array Diagnostic Utility report.

Check this document.

Thank You!
I am a HP employee.

I work for HPE.
[Any personal opinions expressed are mine, and not official statements on behalf of Hewlett Packard Enterprise]

Accept or Kudo

IET
Occasional Contributor