ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1751894 Members
5207 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

ML350 G5 Power Supply Issue

MammothMan

ML350 G5 Power Supply Issue

Hello, I have a problem with my Proliant ML350 G5 server. The other day I unplugged both power cords from the unit as I wasn't using the server in awhile (It's just a home test server). Today I plugged them both back in but only one PSU has the green light when powered on. The other PSU has no light on the back of it when on. The front of the unit has a flashing amber light on the front, on the External health LED.

The server powers on fine obviously as one PSU is working but is this a problem to just have one PSU? I noticed they are pretty expensive to replace and being a college student, I have to watch my spending.

One weird thing I just noticed while doing the HP Insight Diagnostics from the SmartStart CD (Says both power supplies are fine on the diagnostics (Power supply status test)) was with both power supplies plugged in, and only one working, when I unplug the one that isn't working, I hear the fans inside of it kick on. It is almost like if there is power going to it, the fans stop working but when there is no power, the fans work.

Any idea what's going on? I know it isn't the actual power supply slot as I put the working PSU in the non-working PSU's slot and it works fine. It's just strange that this is happens after I removed the cords and put them back in. Also, when I unplug the cord to the PSU that isn't working, it makes several *click click* noises.

Another thing I just tried was removing the PSU that shows no power going to it, while the machine was running. When I removed it, I heard the "broken" PSU's fans come to a stop then when I put it back in, I heard the fans coming on at a steady force.