1748150 Members
3457 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

ML370 G1 + SA431 + other problem

Bat_1

ML370 G1 + SA431 + other problem

Hi,
I normally search for a thread relating to my problem, but I can't seem to find a search button!
Anyway... I'm self-taught on servers, so I'm probably missing large chunks of important information.
I've had the server running on server 2003 eval. ed. and I've moved up to S2K3 Enterprise ed.
I've tried to run the ACU as I need to swap the full 18s for 36Gb drives.
I got the "Already running ACU as an application on this server" error message.
So I downloaded the 8.35.7.0 version as recommended from the SA431 Drivers section.
This version doesn't recognise my controller!
Do I need a different version ACU or a different driver or different firmware, please?

An unrelated problem... I've got a HP branded DLT 7000 tape drive, but I cannot get it to compress the tape using the Windows "Back Up" application. The right-click properties reports compression capable and enabled, HP diagnostic test reports 2.35:1 compression possible. However when it gets to 35Gb when backing-up it asks for another tape.
Any help on how to solve this one also very much appreciated :)
Thanks in advance,
Gavin :)
8 REPLIES 8
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Re: ML370 G1 + SA431 + other problem

About the already running ACU as an application.

Try to run ACU in IE7.
You could also try to change it from application only to remote service mode (do this from the setup icon in start menu) and then try to access ACU from a machine that have IE7.
Bat_1

Hi,
Johan, Top man! I like your lateral thinking. I uninstalled IE8 and reloaded IE7, then re-installed ACU 7.60. All is now well, just waiting for the 36Gb drives to arrive :)
I've awarded you some points, have a happy new year too! :)
You any good on tape drives???
Thanks,
marcus1234
Honored Contributor

check properies of the drive normally hardware compression is enabled by default ,