1752790 Members
6399 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: NCU 10.20 and 10GbE 6.0.60

Eric Datwyler
Frequent Advisor

It's good to see I'm not the only one seeing this issue. I contacted HP support and they stated, "when you update the network drivers, its always advisable to remove the teaming and then update the drivers. Its usual procedure". This can't be correct as those of us who have many servers with multiple VLANs on each server would NEVER update drivers and NCU. I've been working with Proliant servers for quite a few years and never had to do this "usual procedure". Something is wrong in the install and it's advisable not to upgrade until this is corrected. Is HP listening?
Aaron Blosser
Advisor

For what it's worth, I have seen a similar issue before, but it was a ways back. Same deal where updating the NIC drivers was failing, and it turned out to be something like the miniport driver needed updating, and it was just confusing. I'm fuzzy on the details...it may even be here in the forums from 4-5 years ago.

I have 2 identical servers right now, one with the old drivers and one that I udpated to the new stuff the hard way, so maybe I can compare the reg keys and see if anything looks different.

I even tried extracting the files out of the cpXXX.exe files and manually updating the drivers. That actually worked great, but as far as the HP stuff was concerned, it still had the old drivers installed, and even though the HP teaming driver was udpated, the HP teaming utility was still the old one. So I thought if I just ran the update utilities as normal, it might work then, but sure enough, the drivers were no longer able to start after that.

Clearly it's some bug in the driver update program, it's just a hassle.
Ali
HPE Pro

Well... looks like thats the correct procedure. I had the same answer when I called HP a while ago.
Surprisingly... release date for NCU and NIC driver also matters.