1752749 Members
4882 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Need help using SmartStart on a Proliant 8500R

Marc Dupras
Occasional Advisor

Need help using SmartStart on a Proliant 8500R

Ok - I have been working on this issue for a while now and I am fairly new to Proliant servers(and well servers in general).

I have a Proliant 8500R and I am trying to install Windows 2003 on it.

I am using SmartStart 5.5

I continue to have several different errors when trying different scenerios.

Example 1 : Spawn error: Exec format error running hwdisc-2.exe

Example 2 : Smartstart can't continue because there are no physical or logical disks on the primary controller. This occured when I did a system wipe and just let the Smartstart cd try and install. So not setting up a drive array.

Example 3: SMRTSCSI not installed

Example 4: Unable to find any AIC-7899. ASPICPQ.SYS failed.

----------------------------------------------

So anyhow, could anyone put together a step by step bare essentials of what I need to do to get this darn server to work? I'd follow the instructions and report any errors along the way.

Basicaly what I am trying right now is

1. Doing a system wipe to start off clean.
2. I pop in the Smartstart CD and reboot.
3. The smart array initializes and says there are no arrays setup. I press F8 to enter option rom configuration Arrays menu (Version 1.68) I have 2 SCSI drives, Both 15k speed and same size. In slots 0 and 1. I select them both and do a raid 1 (0+1)
4. Then Smartstart gives me the screen of the guy with his arms in the air and some chick is sitting on a van seat while they are beside the van (to me this picture means the guy is as frustrated as I am and there should be a caption that says "Shoot me now! I give up on this server" Hey we gotta laugh :) ) Anyhow, I found out that by pushing Esc that picture goes away and you can actually see what is happening with Smartstart.