ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748198 Members
2607 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

No video on a new (refurbed) HP ProLiant DL320

Phil Poole

No video on a new (refurbed) HP ProLiant DL320

This may be very simple for one of you. I work for an International School and was recently donated a couple of HP ProLiant DL320's by a local business here. For the record, I am Dell guy, so I am new to HP products.

According the the tech guy that previously had them, they worked perfectly but erased the Hard Drives as normal security measure for donations.

Now that I them, I can get them to power up but I cannot seem to get them to show any video.

I have tried booting up with changing jumpers, etc. and been reading up online and talked to some HP guys and found it could be a security or iLO 2 feature(?). But there is no exact documentation to tell what is wrong or what to do here.

Does anyone have any advice for me? I would really appreciate some direction.

Thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
Suman_1978
HPE Pro

Re: No video on a new (refurbed) HP ProLiant DL320

I hope you are referring to ProLiant DL320 G1 server.

Is the front panel Internal Health LED red?
Are any system board LEDs showing a failure or error condition?

Power down the server. Reseat all expansion boards, DIMMs, processors, and PPMs. Reseat all cable connections.

I work for HPE.
[Any personal opinions expressed are mine, and not official statements on behalf of Hewlett Packard Enterprise]

Accept or Kudo

Phil Poole

Awesome, thanks for the quick response!!

I actually have ProLiant DL320 G4 if that makes a difference.

Your question: Is the front panel Internal Health LED red?

When it turn it on, it screams like a jet engine, I know this sound to be normal for servers but this stays continual, doesn't go away. Possible problem?