ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1748103 Members
4715 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Power supplies for Blade enclosure

Pete LaBrec2

Power supplies for Blade enclosure

I've got a BL20p G3 blade that doesn't automatically power up upon insertion into the blade enclosure. I've checked the ILO settings, and the option to boot up is checked. I'm thinking it's a power issue, so I tried putting in 2 power supplies, and they don't become active. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated, because I have little experience with this product.
12 REPLIES 12
Ar_2
Advisor

Hi Pete

I had the same issue but sorted out after adding power supplies.
I had 3 blade enclosures and 8 power supplies (2 power enclosures )power supplies were in slot 1,2,4 and 5.
I had added 4 more power supplies and also upgraded the Firmware to the latest available.

Ar
Carsten Reinhard
Frequent Advisor

Pete,

what kind of power enclusre do you have? The one with 3U or the one with 1U?

In which slots did you insert those power supplies?
Pete LaBrec2

The power enclosure is 1U. I just filled the remaining blade enclosure slot with a blade, and it won't power up properly. If I hold the button for 5 seconds it will start. Currently power supplies are in 1,2,4, and 5 position. So I added 2 power supplies to the power enclosure, and they don't seem to power on.
Carsten Reinhard
Frequent Advisor

Pete,

why do you think, the power supplies won't getting active. What's the status of the LEDs of those power supplies?
Pete LaBrec2

The LED's never light up. they are brand new, so the chances of them being bad are slim to none, but I'm going to try 2 other ones that i have.
Carsten Reinhard
Frequent Advisor

Pete,