3748 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion

ProLiant DL785 G5 Firmware Update

InternforIT
Occasional Advisor

ProLiant DL785 G5 Firmware Update

Hi all,

I am an intern at a local Integrated data and telecommunications company and am new to the server side of IT. I know some basic knowledge still being in college, but my knowledge is limited. 

My employer has two Hyper-V servers that he is trying to make redundant and to distribute the load across each server. However, he needs to update the firmware on them so he has me testing the Smart Update Firmware update for an HP Proliant DL785 G5 with the AMD Opteron 2.3GHZ Quad CPU, running a fresh install of Windows 2008 R2 Enterprise x64. 

However, when I put the disc in and get into the initial setup, the disc will take me through the automatic update and then say it's booting, boots off the DVD, gets to the second loading screen, and then gives me the following:

Warning!!! Unable to mount the file system

Dropping to a shell.  Good luck!

/bin/ash: can't access tty:  job control turned off

What is this error and what does it mean? I have read some other posts stating that the disc might be corrupt, but I have reburned the image on more than one disc and both failed, along with putting this image on a USB and attempting to boot from it and it still fails. Also, I have read that it's possible that the disc doesn't recognize some of the hardware in the machine. 

Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

13 REPLIES 13
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Re: ProLiant DL785 G5 Firmware Update

Howdy, 

which disc are you booting on? The SPP? http://www.hp.com/go/spp/download

InternforIT
Occasional Advisor

Sorry for the really long wait time for this response. I was waiting for an email to be sent to me saying there was a reply. So I never got one so I decided to check today as this issue isn't a company urgent issue.

Regardless, the disc I am using is on the driver support site: