108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: ProLiant G5 DL380 Unable to reach prompt to enter RBSU

SOLVED
Go to solution
FireAmpersand
Visitor

ProLiant G5 DL380 Unable to reach prompt to enter RBSU

Just a note before i explain whats wrong. This is my first time working with a industry level server. I have built and managed servers out of old pc parts so i know the "basics" if you will. 

So about a week a ago, my college did an upgrade to the servers. Removing 3-4 ProLiant G5 DL380 servers for something fancier and new. They offered them up to my class ( I am in a networking and computer hardware major) to those that want them. I eneded up taking one home to use as a sandbox and learn what industry level servers are like. Everything but the hard drives, ram and a CMOS battery were included. 

I did my research for the ram, the offical document said it needs PC2-5300 ECC Ram. Got 32GB (4GB x 8). I also got 2 HP 2.5" drives and a 2032 battery. 

Today i went to put it all together and couldn't even reach the point to enter RBSU. I am getting two short beeps on post, the display is active but is a black screen ( i know its outputing as the monitor no longer says no input). I have tried removing everything but one stick of ram, a processor, and one psu, but still the exact beep code. 

If anyone has some tips for me i would greatly appreciate the help. 

Thanks in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
sulleymonster
Occasional Advisor

When I have come accross this situation it's always been a bad battery/memory or a seating issue with memory or the processor.

Try reseating the processor and going through the memory sticks by testing them one by one.

Have you tried using the ILO interface to view the system boot? If not you can sign up for a tree trial and troubleshoot that way.

FireAmpersand
Visitor