New Discussion юеВ

Re: ProLiant ML330 RAID5 HDD swap how?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Benedek Frank
Advisor

ProLiant ML330 RAID5 HDD swap how?

Dear HP users,

I am an admin of an inherited ML330 server that had a HDD failure just a few days back. HP gave me a replacement, and I would like to know what I am facing replacing the HDD. My system has a RAID5 consisting 3 72GB SCSI drives. I located the drive that died, but our HDD rack isnt hot pluggable, so I need to bring the system down for the swap. My question is as follows:

If I install the new HDD, do I go to the SCSI controller's BIOS to rebuild the array, or I just boot up, and it will be done in the background? If so, I can do it in Lunch Time, but if the BIOS will rebuild the array, I cannot have it done now, but rather after office hours.

The SCSI controller is a HP SA642

Thanks

Ben
6 REPLIES 6
Igor Karasik
Honored Contributor
Solution

Ben, SA642 controller will do rebuild automatically (in background).
You only need replace HDD and boot up server, so you can do it in Lunch time and you even will have time to lunch :-)
You can check rebuild progress by using Array configuration utility.
Benedek Frank
Advisor

Hi Igor,

Thanks for letting me know that.

I will do it soon. How about the Array Config utility? I launched it "For the first time" and I found myself not having access to it. I can view things, but cannot change, as I dont have the admin password. The people who installed it forgot as well. I am of course a complete admin on the machine and the domain itself, but this software's creentials are lost. What is a possible reconfiguration of passwords?

Thanks

Ben
Igor Karasik
Honored Contributor

Ben , Array configuration utilitity (ACU) uses System Management Homepage authentication (and System Management Homepage is part of proliant
support pack (PSP)).