cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ProLiant ML350G3 / SmartArray 641 Slow HD access

Erik Schuurman
Occasional Visitor

ProLiant ML350G3 / SmartArray 641 Slow HD access

First of all I have to say I'm a newbie regarding disk arrays.

For a customer in the US I'm testing our software on the above mentioned system (CPU 2.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM). The system has been complete configured before it was shipped to us. But somehow the disk access is very poor. Retrieving e.g. the folder properties for the system32 directory takes several minutes before it has counted all 5500 files.

The disk array contains 3 HD's of 36 Gb each in a RAID5 configuration. Anyone any idea?

Thanx in advance,
Erik Schuurman
6 REPLIES
e4services
Honored Contributor

Re: ProLiant ML350G3 / SmartArray 641 Slow HD access

Erik,
Post more information on the system. Who configured it? HP? What are the disk drives in the system? HP/Compaq? (I hate having to use both names all the time) Are the disks identical?
SOmetimes timing issues between different drives can slow the bus, or if one drive somehow is acting in SE signalling, or the is some data corruption somehow. May be check the drives are all OK, the array consistancy, there is not a process going on like rebuilding? Run the ACU and see if there ia a problem. Do you have a Smart Raid User Guide?
Hot Swap Hard Drives
Erik Schuurman
Occasional Visitor

I don't exactly know at this moment who configured this server. I suppose the local dealer of the customer configured it. The HD's are identical HP drives 36.4 Gb / 10k speed. The OS installed is Windows2000 Server.