4595 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proliant 3000 Memory error

SOLVED
Go to solution
Trevor Page

Proliant 3000 Memory error

Geez, I wonder what I did wrong. Please bear with me, I'm new to the Proliant 3000.

The server was working fine yesterday and I pulled the drive cage out to install a DAT drive.

This morning I installed the drive cage and plugged the SCSI cable into the Smart SL2 card (I also have the internal drives hooked up to the same card in a RAID 5).

When I booted it up it reported a boot error so I powered down and removed the SCSI cable from the DAt to the card (after I realized its only a singel channel, duh!).

Now the server reports a memory error and won't boot past the memory check.

What should I do?

I should mention I picked this unit up used so I don't have the SmartStart CD but I have managed to find the disk images and have the ACU, RAID and Erase disks made up. I've just located the Diags disk as well.

Please help!
A hammer is the ultimate computer persuasion device.
7 REPLIES 7
Tom Mucha_1
Trusted Contributor

If you mean the Smartarray 2SL- you can't add tape drives to it. Only after the 532 (?) you can add certain drives.

Would you be able to get us the memory error? You can always try reseating the memory on the main board.
Trevor Page

Thanks Tom,

Yes the card is a Smartarray 2SL.

I have reseated the memory board and but I get the same error (201) twice. I'm assuming it thinks both the system RAM and the RAM on the memory board are bot right.

I should mention I have 256MB of RAM in the machine (128 on the system and 128 on the memory board).

I'm thinking that perhaps resetting the BIOS might help? Is there a way to do this?

Keep in mind I can't seem to boot from the floppy anymore, it won't get past the memory check.
Tom Mucha_1
Trusted Contributor