4975 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proliant 3000 Server CPU and SCSI issues

SOLVED
Go to solution
IT_28

Proliant 3000 Server CPU and SCSI issues

I have a Proliant 3000 that has so far been quiet a project to repair. Cosidering I am not an expert in server builds.
After swapping the system board, this server partially boots up. There are two main problems. It has problems with one of the Processors. When I swap the two processors around. The system powers up, but does not post or get to video stage and strangely the CD-Rom starts making a funny noise and starts flashing orange. When I try to power on the system with only one processor I get DIMM memory errors, that I do not normally get when both processors are plugged in. I have also tried changing the DIMM memory sticks with the same result.
The second problem seems to be that the server is not detecting the SCSI drives, but seems to detect the controller. When I plug one of the SCSI drives, its lights come on then go off.
After posting the server asks me to press F1 to continue or f10 for system partition utilities. When I press F10 it reports, "Non-System disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready. There are no tapes floppies or cd-roms inside. When I try to use an operating system installation disk it does not detect any of the scsi disk drives. Thanks in advance for any help on this.
The post the system makes is below.

327680 KB Detected

COMPAQ System Bios -E39 (06/16/1998)

Processor 1 initialized at 300 MHz
Processor 2 initialized at 300 MHz with 512 Kbyte Cache
212-Processor 1 failed
1611-CPU Fan (Fan 2) Not Present

Slot 8 Compaq Smart Array 3200 Controller (rev A, v3.06) 0 Logical Drives
1785-Slot 8 Drive Array Not Configured
No Drives Detected

SCSI Controller, System Board, Port 1:
ID 6 - Compaq 20/40 GB DLT DRV

Press "F1" key to continue
"F10" key for System Partition Utilities
5 REPLIES 5
Dave_180
Valued Contributor
Solution