ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proliant 6000 newbie

SOLVED
Go to solution
doug lovelock
Occasional Visitor

Proliant 6000 newbie

I have just got myself a proliant 6000 to store my files, but the only thing is when I try to install win 2000 server through the set up presses, it gets half way and says "starting windows installation" With the blue screen and that’s it....

Any ideas (I have tried two different win 200 server disks)

Cheers
4 REPLIES
Prashant (I am Back)
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Proliant 6000 newbie

Hi,

Two thing using the smartstart run erase on system as you are doing a new installation then try to install again and what is the error message that you are getting on blue screen that is imp.

REgards,
Prashant S.
Nothing is impossible
doug lovelock
Occasional Visitor

Re: Proliant 6000 newbie

Sorry my mistake Windows 2000 hangs at "Setup Is Starting Windows 2000" Message.
Do I have a driver problem!

Spec:
2x 400MHZ CPU w 1MB l2 Cache
1024 MB ECC RAM
Compaq 3100ES Raid controller
7x 18.2GB SCSI disks
2x 9.1GB SCSI Disks
Redundant parallelable PSU
Network / keyboard / mouse / VGA etc

Cheers
Brian_Murdoch
Honored Contributor

Re: Proliant 6000 newbie

Doug,

Are you using the Smartstart CD to perform the installation or just booting from the Windows 2000 CD? If its the latter, it might struggle with some of the drivers.

The Smarstart 5.50 CD ISO image can be downloaded free of charge from here. You will need a CD-RW and burning software to create the CD however.

http://h18023.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/22678.html

Windows 2000 support was added to the P43 Proliant 6000 BIOS (Intel Xeon model)dated 12/27/99 so you will need this as a minimum.
The newest P43 Proliant 6000 BIOS can be downloaded from here.

http://h18023.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/7498.html

You can see the BIOS history on this link which shows a few fixes for 2000.

I hope this helps.

Brian


doug lovelock
Occasional Visitor

Re: Proliant 6000 newbie

Thanks for all your help. The problem is now resolved, the Smart cd sorted out my problems