New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proliant DL380 G5 Freezes at boot

mfhawa

Proliant DL380 G5 Freezes at boot

I have a year old Proliant DL380 G5 with the following spec:

dual Intel Xeon E5335 Quad-Core 2.00GHz
8GB on eight FB-DIMMs
SAS/SATA RAID Controller with 256MB

The server used to run just fine with Windows 2008 Server installed.

But now, when I boot the server, I get a blank screen. The cooling fans are running at full throttle, which means the power supply is working fine. It used to be the case that the fans slow down after a very short period of time and the Proliant logo shows up on the screen. Now, the fans keep running (never slowing down) and nothing shows up on screen (blank screen).

Any hints on what is wrong or how can I diagnose the problem will be gratetly appreciated, as I am still new to the Proliant world.

Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
Andrew Rutter
Honored Contributor

hi,

does your model have the pull out display panel on the front of the server near the power switch.

this may have one of the leds lit amber or red to help fault find

Andy
mfhawa

Thanks Andy for your reply.

The server has the "display panel on the front of the server". However, there are no leds lit amber or red (fans, memory, proc, PPM, power supply, etc LEDs are all OFF).

Also the internal health, external health and power supply LEDs are all green, which is puzzling.

I also connected to the server using iLO2. iLO2 works fine, and does not report any hardware errors. However, it reports that the server is in stand-by mode even though the fans are running.

I tried resetting the NVRAM using switch 6, but that did not work either.